New Zealand Antarctic Research Institute - Directors

  • Contact-image

    Professor Craig Cary - Acting Director


    A microbial ecologist turned molecular geneticist and a Professor in
    Biological Sciences at the University of Waikato, Craig’s research is
    focussed on microbial life in extreme environments. He has participated
    in 29 deep-sea expeditions to hydrothermal vents, and 12 seasons in
    Antarctica to study microbial life. He co-chairs the Antarctic Nearshore and
    Terrestrial Observing Systems (ANTOS) SCAR Expert Group. Craig’s work
    is highly published and is directly influencing management of human
    impacts in Antarctica.


  • Contact-image

    Dr Vonda Cummings - Deputy Director

    A Principal Scientist in marine ecology at the National Institute of Water and Atmospheric Research (NIWA) in Wellington, Vonda has participated in and led a diverse range of projects focused on marine ecosystem structure and function in New Zealand and Antarctica. She has been actively involved in Antarctic field research programmes since 2000. She is co-chair of ANTOS, a science committee member for one of the large SCAR biology programmes, and actively pursues pathways to policy at international fora.